Welcome to the website of the student council Geography at the Department of Geography at the Universität Bonn.
Here we want to give an overview of our numerous activities and offers. You will find an overview below, but also a look at the menu with its numerous subitems is worthwhile!

Are you a first-year student?

Are you starting your studies at the Department of Geography this semester? Then take a look at the Ersti-Infos 2021. There you will find useful information and details about the planned “Ersti” events!

We have also created the “Guide to GIUB” which gives you an overview of the most important facilities at the institute.

We are looking forward to seeing you!

Your student council (Fachschaft)


Reachability in Corona times

Dear students of the Department of Geography,

current circumstances unfortunately continue to limit our ability to help you with questions about your studies or other concerns. Nevertheless, we would like to remain your contact person, no matter if it is about problems with BASIS, questions about the course of studies, advice in case of difficulties with lecturers, or anything else.

Here you can find all the contact information.

We try to help you with all your concerns. Please forgive us if we cannot answer you immediately.

In addition, we meet every Tuesday at 20:00 for a meeting where we discuss current issues and report from the various commissions and university committees in which our members sit.

Meanwhile, we meet again in presence in the lecture hall – feel free to come by if you want to have a look at what we are doing or just want to meet new people, as well as fulfill the 3Gs (vaccinated, tested, or recovered). If you have any further questions, feel free to write us an email.

We are looking forward to seeing new faces!

Your Student Council Geography Bonn (Fachschaft)


About us

Strictly speaking, the “Fachschaft Geographie” is the name given to all students enrolled in the major subject of geography. Normally, however, the representatives elected by the students (“Fachschaftsvertretung”) of a degree programme are called this. The representatives, usually elected for one year in July, are responsible for organizing the student representation at GIUB.

These elected representatives are supported by numerous other geographers who, for example, organize events or represent our student interests in committees. If you would like to organize a trip, a party or something similar, or if you would like to stand up for better teaching or better equipment in the institute and faculty committees, please contact us or come and visit us.

Student Council Geography 2018

What we do

  • Representation of your interests in commissions Kommissionen
  • Study and first semester advice
  • Organization der of the freshmen’s introduction & geo-parties
  • many more small events

We are also available during opening hours (in the semester Thy & Thu from 11-13) for the following things:


Bachelor’s programme

The degree Bachelor can be obtained in the following courses of study:


Master’s programme

The Institute of Geography offers a total of five master’s programmes.


Further offers

In addition to the above-mentioned information and offers, we offer in our answers to important questions. In our link collection you will find several helpful links. F.A.Q. answers to important questions. In our link collection you will find several helpful links.

Furthermore we maintain five mailing lists. They will keep you up to date on what the student council is doing and what is happening at the institute, or you will regularly receive fresh information on geographically oriented internships and job offers.

For geographically relevant conferences we also offer a sponsorship for the students of the GIUB.

Wilkommen auf der Website der Fachschaft Geographie am Geographischen Institut (GIUB) der Universität Bonn.
Hier wollen wir einen Überblick unserer zahlreichen Aktivitäten und Angebote geben. Eine Übersicht findest Du weiter unten, aber auch ein Blick auf das Menü mit seinen zahlreichen Unterpunkten lohnt sich!

Ersti?

Du beginnst in diesem Semester ein Studium am Geographischen Institut? Dann schau doch mal bei den Ersti-Infos 2021 vorbei. Dort gibt es nützliche Informationen und Details zu den geplanten Ersti-Veranstaltungen!

Außerdem haben wir den “Guide to GIUB” erstellt, der Euch schon mal einen Überblick über die wichtigsten Einrichtungen im Institut gibt.

Bis bald!

Eure Fachschaft


Erreichbarkeit in Corona-Zeiten

Liebe Studierende des Geographischen Instituts,

die aktuellen Umstände schränken unsere Möglichkeiten, Euch bei Fragen zum Studium oder sonstigen Anliegen zu helfen, leider weiterhin ein. Trotzdem möchten wir gerne weiterhin Eure Ansprechpartner bleiben, egal ob es um Probleme bei BASIS, Fragen zum Studienverlauf, Beratung bei Schwierigkeiten mit Dozierenden oder sonstiges geht.

Hier findet ihr alle Kontaktmöglichkeiten.

Wir versuchen, Euch bei allen Euren Anliegen weiterzuhelfen. Seht es uns nach, wenn wir Euch nicht sofort antworten können.

Darüber hinaus treffen wir uns als Fachschaft jeden Dienstag um 20:00 zu einer Sitzung, auf der Aktuelles besprochen wird und aus den verschiedenen Kommissionen und Universitätsgremien berichtet wird, in denen unsere Mitglieder sitzen.

Mittlerweile treffen wir uns wieder in Präsenz im Hörsaal – kommt gerne vorbei, wenn Ihr Euch anschauen möchtet, was wir so machen oder einfach nur neue Leute kennenlernen möchtet, sowie die 3Gs erfüllt (geimpft, getestet oder genesen). Bei weiteren Fragen schreibt uns gerne eine Mail.

Wir freuen uns über neue Gesichter!

Eure Fachschaft Geographie Bonn


Über Uns

Als „Fachschaft Geographie“ bezeichnet man genau genommen alle im Hauptfach Geographie eingeschriebenen Studierenden. Normalerweise werden allerdings die von den Studierenden gewählten Vertreter („Fachschaftsvertretung“) eines Studienganges so genannt. Die üblicherweise im Juli auf ein Jahr gewälten Vertreter sind für die Organisation der studentischen Vertretung am GIUB zuständig.

Diese gewählten Vertreter werden von zahlreichen weiteren Geographinnen und Geographen unterstützt, die zum Beispiel Veranstaltungen organisieren oder unsere studentischen Interessen in Gremien vertreten. Wenn Du auch gerne mal eine Fahrt, ein Fest oder änliches organisieren willst oder aber in den Instituts- und Fakultätsgremien für bessere Lehre oder bessere Ausstattung eintreten willst, quatsch’ uns an oder komm doch mal bei uns vorbei.

Die Fachschaft Geographie

Was wir machen

  • Vertretung eurer Interessen in Kommissionen
  • Studien- und Erstsemesterberatung
  • Organisation der Erstsemestereinführung & Geopartys
  • viele weitere Veranstaltungen

Außerdem sind wir während der Öffnungszeiten (im Semester Di. & Do. von 12-13 Uhr) für folgende Dinge da (aktuell leider nur digital, schreibt uns vorher eine Mail für den Zoom-Link):


Bachelorstudium

Der Grad Bachelor kann in folgenden Studiengängen erlangt werden:


Masterstudium


Weitere Angebote

Neben den gennanten Infos und Angeboten bieten wir in unserem F.A.Q. Antworten auf wichtige Fragen. In unserer Linksammlung findet Ihr verschiedene hilfreiche Links.

Des Weiteren unterhalten wir fünf Mailverteiler. Über diese bleibt Ihr immer auf dem neuesten Stand was die Fachschaft macht und was am Institut passiert oder erhaltet regelmäßig frische Infos zu geographisch orientierten Praktikums und Stellenangeboten.

Für geographisch relevante Tagungen bieten wir darüber hinaus eine Förderung für die Studierenden des GIUBs an.