If you would like to participate in a scientific conference with a geographical reference, there is the possibility that we support you financially. We think it is great if you are interested in geographical topics beyond your studies. Through our commission work we have managed to provide you with financial support in cooperation with the GIUB. In order for us to be able to implement this, there are a few criteria you need to meet.

These criteria are divided into three components: One temporal, one substantive and one financial. Since we would like to enable all students to participate in the conference you propose, we need some lead time. Please contact us at least four weeks before the registration deadline so that we can publicly announce that we are sponsoring your participation in the conference.

We can only support conferences that are related to geography or that you need for your studies. Therefore we need a short description of the event and a reason why you want to participate in the conference. We usually decide within one week whether participation is sponsored or not.

Conferences that we currently sponsor:

  • Currently, no conferences have been applied for funding.

A subsidy is generally only possible up to a maximum of 50% of the cheapest participation fee but not more than 40 € per person. The minimum participation fee must be 20 €. In addition, the sponsorship amount per person depends on the number of participants sponsored by us. You will find out how much the final funding will be shortly after the conference. Afterwards the payment will take place. In addition, the funding is only available to students of the Institute of Geography at the University of Bonn.

You would like to draw our attention to a conference that we should promote?

Then send a description and the reason for your participation to fs@giub.uni-bonn.de at least four weeks before the registration deadline and apply for the grant. Please also let us know if you are eligible for other benefits and how long you would like to participate in the conference.

You would like to apply for funding for an above mentioned conference?

Then send us an informal application before the start of the event to mailto:fs@giub.uni-bonn.de, including your matriculation certificate and invoice for the registration. At the latest 2 weeks after the end of the conference, we will need your certificate of participation to be able to support you.

Wenn Du Lust hast an einer wissenschaftlichen Tagung mit geographischem Bezug teilzunehmen besteht die Möglichkeit, dass Wir Dich dabei finanziell unterstützen. Denn Wir finden es super, wenn Du Dich auch über das Studium hinaus für geographische Themen interessierst. Wir haben es durch unsere Kommissionsarbeit geschafft, Euch in Kooperation mit dem GIUB eine finanzielle Förderung zu ermöglichen. Damit wir dies auch umsetzten können gilt es für Euch einige Kriterien zu erfüllen.

Diese Kriterien gliedern sich in drei Komponenten: Eine zeitliche, eine inhaltliche und eine finanzielle. Da wir allen Studierenden eine geförderte Teilnahme an der von Dir vorgeschlagenen Tagung ermöglichen möchten brauchen wir etwas Vorlaufzeit. Melde dich spätestens vier Wochen vor Anmeldeschluss bei uns, damit wir öffentlich darauf hinweisen können, dass wir die Tagungsteilnahme fördern.

Wir können nur Tagungen fördern, die einen Bezug zur Geographie haben oder die Du für Dein Studium brauchst. Daher benötigen wir eine kurze Beschreibung der Veranstaltung und eine Begründung von Dir, warum Du an der Tagung teilnehmen möchtest. Wir entscheiden in der Regel innerhalb von einer Woche, ob die Teilnahme gefördert wird.

Tagungen die wir aktuell fördern:

Eine Förderung ist generell nur in Höhe von maximal 50 % des günstigsten Teilnahmebeitrags jedoch nicht mehr als 40 € pro Person möglich. Die Mindestteilnahmekosten müssen sich auf 20€ belaufen. Die Fördersumme pro Person ist darüber hinaus von der Anzahl der von uns geförderten Teilnehmenden abhängig. Wie hoch die endgültige Förderung ausfällt erfährst du zeitnah nach der Tagung. Im Anschluss findet die Auszahlung statt. Darüber hinaus steht die Förderung nur Studierenden des Geographischen Instituts der Uni Bonn offen.

Du möchtest uns auf eine Tagung aufmerksam machen, die wir fördern sollten?

Dann sende eine Beschreibung und den Grund für Deine Teilnahme bis spätestens vier Wochen vor Anmeldeschluss an fs@giub.uni-bonn.de und beantrage die Förderung. Gib uns bitte darüber hinaus Bescheid, ob du andere Vergünstigungen erhältst und wie lange Du an der Tagung teilnehmen möchtest.

Du möchtest für eine oben genannte Tagung eine Förderung beantragen?

Dann sende uns einen formlosen Antrag an fs@giub.uni-bonn.de inklusive Immatrikulationsbescheinigung und Rechnung für die Anmeldung.