We would like to explain the course of studies in the Master at this point.

In order to be able to take exams at the end of the semester, you have to register at the Examination Office with Mrs. Rawat (room 103) from October 7th to 11th, from 9:30-12 am. You can find the registration form on this homepage. There you can also find the documents you have to bring along.

For the exams you have to register from 14.10-04.11 (see homepage: Registration for courses) via BASIS (basis.uni-bonn.de). This system is also used to apply for the seminars and attend the corresponding courses. You can find out more about this in the introductory event on 07.10.2019.

In BASIC you will also find the electronic Course catalogue. Here are all courses with table of contents and the current dates.

In the Bonn Master’s programme Geography can be one of three Choose your major fields of study. These are:

governance & space

This section concentrates on in the fields of spatial analysis, spatial development and spatial planning. The main focus lies here in the consideration of western urban spaces. Processes of Spatial development is at the intersection of society, economy and planning treated. Besides the social science methods and a In terms of application, the questioning of guiding principles and paradigms in foreground.

development & globalization

At the center of this branch the developing and emerging countries with their crisis-prone and conflict-laden transformation processes. The focus is on high-risk areas and their vulnerable populations, which have been affected by globalisation and environmental change are particularly badly affected. For their analysis concepts of vulnerability, adaptation, resilience and human security. In terms of content, issues of environmental change, health, water and food are addressed in rural and urban areas of the developing and emerging countries in Focus. The possibilities for action of social actors and the underlying institutional arrangements are given special attention.

Environmental systems in transition

The specialization “Environmental Systems Research lies in the recording and analysis of the processes taking place in the Earth system and on the feedbacks between physical, chemical and biological System components. Current recording and evaluation methods, e.g. the remote sensing and geophysical methods, are combined with models and simulations to understand current and past developments and derive scenarios. Environmental system research is the basis for Dealing with global change. It creates the scientific Basis for a management of the fundamental resources water and land.

individual profile

Furthermore you can – according to Interest – create a individual profile by choosing appropriate courses The individual branches are not selected at the beginning of the master and then but each semester you must choose courses that lead to fit your focus or you are especially interested in.

In the first semester. you should visit the following events:

  • Module 1: Current research spectrum
    (2 orientation seminars, 1 seminar research spectrum)
  • Module 2: Research methods (1 seminar)
  • Module 3: Deepening I (1 seminar)

the The standard period of study for the Master’s degree is four semesters. However, this time can be through internships or stays abroad – so do not panic if you takes a little longer! Nevertheless, it can happen that disadvantages with allocation of seminar places arise, if you do not book them in the intended I’m in my first semester. For example, if you take a seminar from the module “News research spectrum” in the 3rd semester. In such a case we recommend that you inform yourself well in advance about possible consequences.

During the 120 credit points must be earned in the course of study, 30 of which are allocated to Credit points for the Master’s thesis.

Wir möchten Dir an dieser Stelle den Studienverlauf im Master erklären.

Um am Ende des Semesters Prüfungen machen zu können, musst du dich vom 07.-11. Oktober, jeweils von 9:30-12 Uhr, im Prüfungsamt bei Frau Rawat (Raum 103) registrieren lassen. Den Anmeldebogen dazu findest du auf dieser Homepage. Dort steht auch, welche Unterlagen du dazu mitbringen musst.

Für die Prüfungen musst du dich vom 14.10-04.11 (siehe Homepage: Anmeldung Lehrveranstaltungen) über BASIS (basis.uni-bonn.de) anmelden. Über dieses System bewirbst du dich auch für die Seminare und belegst die entsprechenden Lehrveranstaltungen. Näheres dazu erfährst du in der Einführungsveranstaltung am 07.10.2019.

In BASIS findest du auch das elektronische Vorlesungsverzeichnis. Hier sind alle Veranstaltungen mit Inhaltsangaben und den aktuellen Terminen aufgeführt.

Beim Bonner Masterstudiengang Geographie kann man einen von drei Studienschwerpunkten wählen. Es handelt sich dabei um:

Governance & Raum

Dieser Teilbereich konzentriert sich auf die Felder Raumanalyse, Raumentwicklung und Raumplanung. Der Schwerpunkt liegt hierbei in der Betrachtung westlicher urbaner Räume. Prozesse der Raumentwicklung werden im Schnittfeld von Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Planung behandelt. Neben den sozialwissenschaftlichen Methoden und einem Anwendungsbezug steht das Hinterfragen von Leitbildern und Paradigmen im Vordergrund.

Entwicklung & Globalisierung

Im Mittelpunkt dieses Zweigs stehen die Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländer mit ihren krisenhaften und konfliktreichen Transformationsprozessen. Der Fokus liegt auf risikobehafteten Räumen und ihren verwundbaren Bevölkerungen, die durch Globalisierung und Umweltwandel besonders stark betroffen sind. Zu ihrer Analyse werden Konzepte von Verwundbarkeit, Anpassung, Resilienz und menschlicher Sicherheit verwendet. Inhaltlich stehen Fragen von Umweltwandel, Gesundheit, Wasser und Nahrung in ländlichen und städtischen Räumen der Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländer im Fokus. Die Handlungsmöglichkeiten gesellschaftlicher Akteure und die zugrundeliegenden institutionellen Regelungen finden dabei besondere Beachtung.

Umweltsysteme im Wandel

Die Vertiefungsrichtung „Umweltsystemforschung“ liegt in der Erfassung und Analyse der im Erdsystem ablaufenden Prozesse sowie auf den Rückkopplungen zwischen physikalischen, chemischen und biologischen Systemkomponenten. Aktuelle Erfassungs- und Auswertungsmethoden, z.B. der Fernerkundung und geophysikalische Methoden, werden mit Modellen und Simulationen verbunden, um laufende und vergangene Entwicklungen zu verstehen und Szenarien abzuleiten. Die Umweltsystemforschung ist Grundlage für die Beschäftigung mit dem Globalen Wandel. Sie schafft die naturwissenschaftliche Basis für ein Management der fundamentalen Ressourcen Wasser und Land.

Individuelles Profil

Außerdem kannst du dir ‑ ganz nach Interesse ‑ durch das Wählen entsprechender Lehrveranstaltungen ein individuelles Profil schaffen. Die einzelnen Zweige werden nicht zu Beginn des Masters gewählt und dann beibehalten, sondern du musst jedes Semester Veranstaltungen wählen, die zu deinem Schwerpunkt passen oder dich besonders interessieren.

Im ersten Semester solltest du folgende Veranstaltungen besuchen:

  • Modul 1: Aktuelles Forschungsspektrum
    (2 Orientierungsseminare, 1 Seminar Forschungsspektrum)
  • Modul 2: Forschungsmethoden (1 Seminar)
  • Modul 3: Vertiefung I (1 Seminar)

Die Regelstudienzeit des Masters beträgt vier Semester. Diese Zeit kann sich aber durch Praktika oder Auslandsaufenthalte verlängern ‑ also keine Panik, wenn du etwas länger brauchst! Trotzdem kann es vorkommen, dass Nachteile bei der Vergabe von Seminarplätzen entstehen, wenn du diese nicht im vorgesehenen Semester belegst. Zum Beispiel, wenn du ein Seminar aus dem Modul „Aktuelles Forschungsspektrum“ im 3. Semester belegen willst. In einem solchen Fall empfehlen wir euch, euch vorher gut über mögliche Konsequenzen zu informieren.

Während des Studienganges sind 120 Leistungspunkte zu erbringen, von diesen entfallen 30 Leistungspunkte auf die Masterarbeit.